A Day in the Life of Sarah

Hey! I’m Sarah and I’m the Operations Manager for STIK. I started working for STIK full time just after I graduated from Boston College in May 2018. How did I get so lucky to, right out of college, work at arguably the coolest company in Boston, with the most inspiring boss, and now with this kickass team?! A little over two years ago, I wrote this absurd email to Christina asking to intern for her and, for some reason, she bought it and hired me! I worked part-time at STIK during my senior year at BC and was very grateful when Christina offered me a full time position. As for my daily “routine,” I’m a 23 year old who’s “living her best life” and I try to cram as many fun things into my week as possible. This means routine is all over the place and, at this point in my life, I love it that way. 

Wake Up 

I’m reeeaallly bad at waking up (shoutout to my college roommate who, every single morning, for four years listened to my alarm go off over and over and over). Depending on when I want to arrive at work, I set my first alarm for around 7 or 7:30 and then snooze approximately 10 alarms until I get out of bed at the last minute.

  • Occasionally, I’ll go through stretches of high motivation to work out a few mornings per week. This is usually spin class at The Handle Bar or Turnstyle or going for a quick run. If I can successfully get myself out of bed in time, these are usually my most productive and happy days! 

Getting ready 

Because I like to sleep for as long as possible, I spend minimal time getting ready and it’s a very simple process.

  • I brush my teeth, put my contacts in, and assess my hair situation.
  • I’ve been straightening my hair pretty much every day for the past 5 years so that’s usually the answer to my hair situation
  • I spritz my face with my fancy vitamin-c ultra-hydrating avocado….siiike! All my makeup products can be purchased at CVS and I’m generally 60% sure how to use them. At least I look better than when I woke up...
  • Thanks to STIK’s dress code, which is: “wear whatever the heck you want,” getting dressed is the easiest part of getting ready. I grab a dress or a pair of jeans and a clean shirt and that’s that.

Breakfast + Commute

I live in Cambridge, so I just drive 10 minutes to work. All about that 10 minute commute in the comfort of my car :). Out of habit and necessity, I usually stop at Dunkin or Starbucks for coffee. If I’m lucky, breakfast is a piece of fruit or yogurt I get to the office. 

How I Spend my Days in the Office

I get to work by 9 and spend the first few minutes catching up on any emails or to-do list items from the day before. After that, I pretty much work on about 20 things at once for the whole day until it’s alll done. These tasks could be quite literally anything and no day looks the same, but here are some examples:

  • All things Peru- I have a set call with our team in Peru once per week, but chat with my girl, Andrea, pretty much every day to make sure everything is going smoothly. I manage and order all inventory, keep tabs on production, coordinate shipments, brainstorm and facilitate new product development, address quality concerns, etc. etc. 
  • Finding operational solutions--as we keep growing, it’s important to make our systems as efficient as possible
  • New product development - we all work together as a team to come up with new product ideas. I communicate our ideas to our team in Peru and gather any necessary materials for them to create a prototype
  • Office management- I keep tabs on our own inventory of marketing materials, office supplies, packaging, storage shelf space, etc. If any of that needs to be ordered, I’m your girl. 
  • Give a Sh*t - touch base with Give-a-Sh*t Knit Kit partners, coordinate new partners
  • Sometimes packing orders and answering customer emails

Lunch is either a really lame, thrown together, snack or something I made the night before. 

  • I end my day tidying up again, maybe packing some orders, and making sure all orders that were packed that day get down to where they’re picked up. I usually leave around 5:30. 

Post-Work

  • Sometimes I’ll go for a post-work Homegoods stroll because it’s a dangerous ~100 yards from our office
  • If not, I’ll head home, plop myself on my couch or bed and scroll on my phone for some “me time.” 
  • If I didn’t work out in the morning, I’ll run or go to spin or yoga when I get home.

Dinner

I’ve been trying to cook more recently….. I’m *almost* worse at cooking than waking up. If I do cook, my menu consists of:

  • Chickpea pasta--LOVE Banza and red sauce or Wegman’s pesto
  • Zoodles (zucchini noodles) or butternut squash noodles with whatever vegetables I have and red sauce or Wegman’s pesto
  • A sad salad
  • Fajitas (my roommate and I LOVE making fajitas)

A few nights per week I get dinner or a drink with friends. Some of my favorite spots recently have been:

Post-Dinner

My roommates and I will usually do something together! Here’s some fun stuff we do:

  • Sit on the same couch while we scroll on our phones and send Patriots/Bachelor/Cardi B/Lady Gaga memes to each other
  • Bake cookies with our friends who live down the street 
  • Watch the Bachelor or a movie

Bedtime

I head up to bed around 11 or 12. Maybe that’s why I have problems waking up?? My bedtime routine is just as simple as my morning routine--I wash my face if I didn’t shower, brush teeth, take contacts out, aaaand that’s it. If I get into bed early enough, which doesn’t happen very often in the summer, I’ll watch a show or movie--most recently:

  • Breaking Bad
  • Dead to Me

 

XO,


Sass


Make our friendship official. Learn about our Close Knit Club >